CMRC Children's Memorial Research Center
Research Advisory Committee

The COMP Research Advisory Committee is made up of investigators, physicians, and bench scientists from Children's Memorial Hospital (CMH) and other Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine faculty. The RAC advises COMP staff on policies and operations, research directions, collaborative projects, and educational and promotional activities.

COMP Research Advisory Committee Members include:

Ariza, Adolfo, MD
Pediatric Practice Research Group (PPRG, in the CHR Program)
Research Assistant Professor, Pediatrics, Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine
http://aariza@childrensmemorial.org
Primary care prevention and management of obesity, esp. in Latino populations and promotion of healthy lifestyles

Benya, Ellen, MD
Attending Radiologist, Medical Imaging, CMH
Assistant Professor, Radiology, Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine
ebenya@childrensmemorial.org
Interested in radiologic measurements of body fat and its distribution

Binns, Helen, MD, MPH
Pediatric Practice Research Group (PPRG, in the CHR Program)
Professor, Pediatrics and Preventive Medicine, Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine
Primary care prevention and management of obesity

Brickman, Wendy, MD
Assistant Professor, Pediatrics
Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine
wbrickman@childrensmemorial.org
Endocrinology Type 2 diabetes, CMH

Brooks, Ellen, PhD
Resident Assistant Professor, Kidney Diseases, CMH
http://e-brooks3@northwestern.edu
Hypertension in obesity

Chang, Rowland, MD, MPH
Professor, Preventive Medicine and Rheumatology, FSM Arthritis
Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine
rwchang@northwestern.edu
Obesity as a public health problem and its association with arthritis in adults

Dilley, Kimberley, MD, MPH
Director, STAR Program, Division of Hematology/Oncology
http://kdilley@childrensmemorial.org
Obesity in cancer survivors; adipocyte and osetocyte interactions

Epstein, Leon, MD
Derry A. and Donald L. Shoemaker,
Professor of Pediatric Neurology,
Associate Chair for Research, Department of Pediatrics Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine
Associate Program Director, GCRC
Chief, Division of Neurology, CMH
   

Obesity as a leading child health research issue

Iannaccone, Philip, MD, D.Phil
George M. Eisenberg Professor, Department of Pediatrics
Senior Vice President
Deputy Director for Research – Basic Sciences
Director of the Developmental Biology Program
Children’s Memorial Research Center
Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine
pmi@northwestern.edu
Obesity as a leading child health research issue

Klein-Gitelman, Marisa, MD, MPH
Associate Professor, Pediatrics
Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine
Head, Division of Rheumatology, CMH
Klein-gitelman@northwestern.edu
Obesity in children with arthritis and problems related to inflammation

Koenig, Peter, MD, FACC, FASE Associate Professor, Pediatrics
Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine
Attending Physician, Cardiology, CMH
PKoenig@childrensmemorial.org
Effects of obesity on cardiovascular function and means to assess these

Kumar, Rajesh, MD
Attending Physician, Allergy, CMH
RKumar@childrensmemorial.org
Obesity and asthma

Kushner, Robert, MD
Professor, Medicine, General and Internal
Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine
http://rkushner@nmh.org
Family patterns of obesity; obesity management, including bariatric surgery

LaBella, Cynthia, MD
Professor, Pediatrics
Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine
Medical Director, Institute for Sports Medicine, CMH
clabella@childrensmemorial.org
Injuries in obese athletes, sports/activity and obesity

Langman, Craig, MD
Isaac A. Abt, MD Professor, Kidney Diseases
Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine
Division Head, Kidney Diseases
c-langman@northwestern.edu
Hypertension and renal function in obesity and the metabolic syndrome

Mason, Maryann, PhD
Research Assistant Professor
Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine
Associate Director, Child Health Data Lab (CHDL), CMH
mmason@childrensmemorial.org
Community patterns of activity and obesity

Mancini, Anthony, MD, FAAP, FAAD
Associate Professor, Pediatrics and Dermatology
Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine
Head, Division of Dermatology, CMH
http://amancini@northwestern.edu
Acanthosis nigricans and other dermatologic problems in obesity

Sheldon, Steven, MD
Professor, Pediatrics
Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine
Sleep Medicine Obstructive Sleep Apnea (OSA), CMH
ssheldon@northwestern.edu
Sleep abnormalities in obese children

Story, Rachel, MD
Assistant Professor, Pediatrics
Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine
Attending Physician, Allergy, CMH
http://RStory@childrensmemorial.org
Obesity in asthmatic children

Unger, Rebecca MD
Assistant Professor, Pediatrics
Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine
The NorthWestern Children’s Practice
r-unger@northwestern.edu
Prevention and management of obesity in primary care

Van Horn, Linda, PhD
Professor and Acting Chair, Preventive Medicine
Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine
http://lvanhorn@northwestern.edu
Nutritional aspects of obesity in women and children 

Wang, Xiaobin, MD, MPH
Professor, Pediatrics
Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine
Director, Smith Child Health Research Program, Molecular Epidemiology
xbwang@childrensmemorial.org
Molecular epidemiology of obesity, metabolic syndrome, and associated comorbidities

Whitington, Peter, MD,
Professor, Pediatrics
Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine
Gastroenterology, Hepatology & Nutrition, CMH
p-whitington@northwestern.edu
Non-alcoholic Steatohepatitis (NASH)

Zimmerman, Donald, MD,
Professor, Pediatrics
Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine
http://dzimmerman@childrensmemorial.org
Hormonal abnormalities in obesity and diabetes