The Children's Memorial Research Center Pre- and Postdoctoral Training Program presents

2009 Biomedical Research Symposium

Friday, September 18th, 2009
Featured Keynote Speaker:

D. Woodrow Benson, MD, PhD
Director of Cardiovascular Genetics, Cincinnati Children's Hospital
"Genetic Origins of Pediatric Heart Disease"


Schedule of Events:
9:00 - 11:30 AM
Selected Oral Presentations
Wolfson Conference Room, CMRC
12:00 - 1:00 PM
Bernard L. Mirkin, PhD, MD Honorary Lecture
given by Dr. D. Woodrow Benson 
(boxed lunch provided)
Bigler Auditorium, CMH
1:30 - 5:00   PM Poster Presentations
Wolfson Conference Room, CMRC
5:00 - 6:00   PM
Reception & Awards
Atrium, CMRC
All trainees of the Children's Memorial Research Center, including graduate students, postdoctoral and clinical fellows and research staff (i.e. research associates, research assistants, research technicians, etc.) are invited to submit an abstract. To submit an abstract of your work, please download the application form.




  SHUTTLE SCHEDULE: A complimentary shuttle will be a school bus with the Symposium poster on the door


Ward Building (Chicago Ave) to CMRC Departs:
CMRC to Ward Building (Chicago Ave)  Departs:
8:00 AM
11:30 AM (to Bigler Auditorium)
  1:30 PM
2:00 PM
2:30 PM
3:00 PM
3:30 PM
  5:00 PM
  6:00 PM

Additional Transportation options: CMH/155 Bus runs between 155 E Superior and Children's Memorial Hospital every 40 mins.
CMH/CMRC is also a short walk east of the Fullerton 'El' stop which serves the Purple/Brown/Red lines


The Biomedical Research Symposium is being coordinated and planned by the CMRC Training Program:


Executive Committee:               Hans-Georg Simon, PhD (Faculty Director)
                                                  Barbara Sisson, PhD
                                                  Susan Park, PhD
                                                  Katharine Hardy, PhD
                                                  Tyler Schwend
                                                  Christopher Ott
                                                  Catherine Willis

Invited Speaker Committee:     Barbara Sisson, PhD
                                                  Christopher Ott
                                                  Jenny Krcmery

Public Relations Committee:     Marzena Lewandowska, PhD
                                                  Catherine Willis
                                                  Susan Park, PhD
                                                  Austin Gillen

Abstract Review Committee:     Suzan Hammond
                                                   Diana Schwab-Himmelstein
                                                   Ajith Joseph, PhD
                                                   Parker Flowers
                                                   Katharine Hardy, PhD

Food and Facilities Committee: Tyler Schwend
                                                   Jenny Kerschner
                                                   Jorge Cantu
                                                   Barbara Sisson, PhD

Additional Support:                     Peg Rainey
                                                   Denise Lilly
                                                   Tony Rankin
                                                   Peggy Jones

If you would like to volunteer with any of the above, please contact a committee member.
























































Back to the top of the page